Posted in:

When an attempt to upload a session with a label that already exists in the Project is made, the sessions can be merged together by the CNDA.

Before merging, the user will be given the option to either append or overwrite the existing session.

Types of Merges that can be done include:
  • Scans with changes or additions to the original
  • Scans with different Study UIDs
  • Scans with different Series UIDs
  • Scans from different sessions

Merging occurs as follows


During an Upload:
Attempt to upload a session in Uploader Applet. After clicking Finish a message appears that Session ID Already Exists.

SessionIDAlreadyExistsCNDA1_6.jpg

Select either Append or Overwrite to merge the session being uploaded to the one already in Archive.
  • Append: Will add new Data Types to existing ones, Anything that matches will be ignored.
  • Overwrite: Will add new Data Types to existing ones. Anything that matches will be replaced by the one in the uploading session.

If the project is set to send sessions to Prearchive, the session will continue there when Overwrite or Append are clicked.
If the project is set to send sessions to the Archive, the session will be merged as directed.
  • In the case of a session with a different Study UID, the session will NOT go to the Archive. It will instead appear in the Prearchive in Error state. The session can be Rebuilt to remove Error status, and can then be forced to merge after agreeing to the Upload Warnings (similar to window displayed below).


During a Session Label Change:
Edit a session in the Prearchive, change the label to match an existing one.
Click Submit.

Upload Warning message appears.

UploadWarningsCNDA1_6.jpg

To merge, overriding the conflicts, click Continue.
NOTE: Additional Conflicts may appear and can also be overridden.

Merging cannot occur

There is a scenario that will keep the CNDA from being able to automatically merge sessions.
Scenario: Session has the same label and Series Number as a session in the Archive, but the Study and Series UIDs are different.

This scenario will cause Fail warnings like the ones below.

SessionFailCNDA1_6.jpg

In this situation, the two sessions would need to be merged manually.

See the following for details: Manual Merge